Tags

, , ,

As you may already be aware, I am not a late night person, so when a guy from my dorm knocked on my door last night around 9:30, I was gearing up to put on my pajamas and watch Upstairs, Downstairs on Youtube. But I thought, well, might as well get out of my dorm room. N.B.: I didn’t have my camera, so any and all pictures were either grabbed from the Internet or taken last summer.

Suffice it to say, it was an extremely long night which stopped being fun when we missed the last train back to the Cité and had to walk to the Gare de l’Est to catch the Noctilien (the Night Bus–it’s a real thing!)–

–and then walked all the way from the fountain at St. Michel to the Cité, which was a hideously long walk through somewhat sketchy areas of Paris. Complete with the aforementioned Frenchman analyzing my personality for me while we walked from Denfert-Rochereau to Alésia to Porte d’Orléans.

This is St. Michel:

St. Michel

However, up until about 1 AM it was a pretty fun night. Here are some highlights:

-speaking French for hours with a native speaker. Really helpful–though I do tend to go back and fix my mistakes, which isn’t really conducive to flowing conversation. And it’s difficult for me to understand if I’m not looking directly at a person and/or it’s 2 AM and I was ready for bed three hours ago.

-My first French KFC. It was enormous, two stories; I had an ice cream sundae thing with chocolate hazelnut sauce of some kind. Pretty delicious.

-Sacre Coeur at night. Gorgeous to look at, but lots of drunk people and smoking and tourists, and people trying to sell you beer and flowers and keychains. Almost the same level of unpleasant as the Eiffel Tower at night (also beautiful, all lit up, but definitely not where I’d want to be).

And then I got not quite enough sleep, naturally. It’s quite warm out, and yesterday was kind of brutal, and my room is on the top floor, which means all of the heat rises and sinks into the carpet. Yuck.

On the bright side, today is chocolatine day! Ooh, chocolatines!

chocolatine

(Of course, that’s a chocolatine from last summer–the best one I have ever eaten, in St. Yrieix. I can only hope that today’s will pass muster.)

Bisous,
Anne

