Tags

, , , ,

Happy Thanksgiving, everybody! I am putting off my official Thanksgiving celebration until Sunday, when my dad will be in Paris but I will most likely be stopping by my friend Hallie’s apartment for a little Thankgiving cheer. This morning I have wandered all over my neighborhood in search of a little dinde (turkey) and potiron (pumpkin–which I always thought was citrouille, but go figure!). Despite a case of the mean reds (for which obviously I should go to the Champs-Élysées and look at expensive clothes and jewelry!), I do have some things that I am thankful for.

Pain aux raisins. Obviously.

The exotic fruit and vegetable market at Porte d’Orléans, where they’re selling what seem to be slices of pumpkin, sans seeds. In the absence of canned pumpkin, this makes me very happy.

The butcher shop on Boulevard Jourdan, where they sell every part of the turkey, which means that I could buy the cuisse (thigh) to bake for dinner tonight.

Charles Dickens. I didn’t think I’d ever say this, actually, but the man wrote The Pickwick Papers, which causes me to laugh out loud at least every five pages. And I really need that right now. And to think, the only reason I decided to read this was Cranford and Jim Carter telling Eileen Atkins that it was always good for a laugh (his taste in literature was “sadly popular”). (Also a little bit because of Little Women, the chapter “The P.C. and the P.O.,” in which the March girls each play one of the Pickwickians–Pickwick himself, Tupman, Snodgrass and Winkle–and then inaugurate Laurie into the club as the fabulous Samuel Weller, who may be my favorite character. Anyway, moving on.

Slowly but surely making some new friends.

People who are kind and reassuring when my French fails (and who teach me how to say homesickness in French–mal au pays!).

A wonderful voice teacher and some great singing of late.

Skype, e-mail, Facebook, Face Time, and any other device that allows me to connect with my family and friends back in the States.

Aforementioned family, whom I miss terribly, but who are always there for me when I need a (virtual) hug.

I love you all, and I hope you all have a wonderful Thanksgiving!

As my voice teacher would say, je vous embrasse affectueusement!

Anne

