Tags

, , , , ,

Good morning, blogosphere!

This afternoon I will be heading to Dublin to see my dear friend Rachel. Dublin, like Edinburgh, is a city of which I have no mental picture; in fact, I seem to have compiled a completely fictional idea of Ireland, the Irish and Dublin, made up of some of the following things.

-“Molly Malone,” “The Salley Gardens” and about six other Irish songs from elementary/middle school choir with an Irish music teacher.

Titanic, all iterations. “I’m Katherine McGowan, but everyone calls me Kate.” “I’m Kate too! Kate Mullins.” “And I’m Kate Three: Kate Murphy.” “It must be fate, then!” “It’s not fate, it’s Irish!”

-Anything I’ve ever read by Maeve Binchy.

Angela’s Ashes. Which is set in Limerick.

Harry Potter, because a. Seamus Finnigan is Irish and b. the Great Hall of Hogwarts was modeled after the Trinity College library.

-“Jane! You are to undertake the education of the five daughters of Mrs. Dionysus O’Gall of Bitternut Lodge, Connaught, Ireland.” “IRELAND?! I really must object!”

-“They’re always after me lucky charms!” Both Austin Powers and the actual cereal commercial.

Rob Roy. Because Irish freedom fighters are cooler than Scottish freedom fighters (sorry, Mel Gibson)>

-Dyeing the Chicago River green for St. Patrick’s Day (something I have never seen, by the way–next year!).

-“Do you speak Gaelic?” “Fluently.” “How do you say, let’s get out of here?” and “Top o’ the mornin’ to you!” “And the rest of the day to you!” –An Affair to Remember

-Lady Sybil and her Irish chauffeur on Downton Abbey.

Well, I think that’s it for now. I’ll be back in a couple of days with a more concrete picture and stories to share!

Bisous,
Anne

P.S. I don’t know if I’ll make it to Wales while I’m in Europe, so I wanted to get one of my favorite Ruby quotes from Upstairs Downstairs out into cyberspace. It’s in this totally bizarre episode when they’re in between under house parlor maids and they get this girl named Gwyneth who winds up madly in love with Richard Bellamy (not that I blame her!). Anyway, Rose or somebody says, “I don’t think there’s anything wrong with the new girl.” and Ruby goes, “Yes, there is. She’s WELSH.” Tee hee.

