Tags

, , , , ,

Yesterday was audition day! I sang on the stage of the opera house at the Palau de les Arts de Reina Sofia, and alas, I wasn’t put through to the finals. But I’m in pretty distinguished company, based on what I heard through doors and walls yesterday. And the woman who sang before me got through, and she was absolutely incredible. She also couldn’t have been nicer…and was probably about 30. So there’s that. I guess I’ll try this again in six years.

BUT. PERO! I got to spend the whole afternoon at the Ciudad de las Artes y las Ciencias.

Let me preface this by saying that I have been to a lot of cool places. I live in Paris, for instance. I’ve seen the Colosseum and the Sistine Chapel, the Trinity College Library in Dublin, the Edinburgh Castle, the Ponte Vecchio…and I was absolutely dumbstruck by the Ciudad de las Artes y las Ciencias. As I walked around and took pictures I found myself muttering “What IS this place?” or variations thereof (though now that I’ve read Cinderella Ate My Daughter by Peggy Orenstein, I’m a little self-conscious of the Disney Princess references…). It’s one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever seen. It was also totally unexpected. My hotel is in a not-particularly-beautiful part of Valencia, and most of what I had seen up until this point had been less-than-charming and kind of falling apart. The Ciudad is almost like an oasis.

This is the opera house, the Palau de les Arts. I remember thinking, as I walked up to it, that I’d probably be okay with coming to work here every day.

As gorgeous as it was, it was also incredibly warm out, and all I could think about was going swimming. City-wide pool party at the Ciudad de las Artes y las Ciencias? ¡Claro que si! (Ahaha, look at me go with my upside-down exclamation point!)

I would really have liked to have had this guy’s job at that moment:

Even the napkins were happy at the Ciudad!

I didn’t take any pictures of the aquarium, but I’m intending to go back and visit it properly anyway, maybe this afternoon. I did buy a magnet, though, to keep my creepy Irish doll magnet company.

And now I’m going to go put on a shirt covered in zebras and find myself some Valencia oranges.

Bisous,
Anne

P.S. It looks like it might rain today. Time to see if the rain in Spain…well, you know.

