Tags

, , , , , , ,

Two nights ago, I discovered Dorothy Loudon.

Which is insane. How long have I been into musical theater, again, and I’ve never heard the original Miss Hannigan?


(Granted, I refused to like Annie for years because I didn’t want anybody to call me Annie…but people who feel like calling me Annie will do so whether I want them to or not, so I figure I might as well be okay with the show.)

I can’t stop watching that video. And this one, which I find absolutely devastating.



What I find striking about Dorothy Loudon, and the reason I’m so drawn to her right now, is that she was absolutely a true original. I mean, could anybody else have done this?


I don’t think so.

Which gets me to thinking, am I an original? What do I have to offer that nobody else could possibly offer? And right now I have the feeling that the answer is nothing. So I think it’s time to start figuring that out.

Then last night I watched Thursday’s episode of Bunheads (a very silly show sort of about ballet, starring Sutton Foster and Kelly Bishop and a bunch of surprisingly not-annoying teenage dancers). At the very end, Sasha did a dance to “Istanbul” by They Might Be Giants, which inspired me to listen to that whole album. I’d heard the song before, but nothing else by They Might Be Giants, and there is quite simply nobody who writes or sings like they do.


What I need to do is find that individual stamp that sets me apart, that makes me different from every other light lyric soprano in the world.

Also, everybody needs a little Bette Davis in their lives in the morning! Speaking of originals!



(Courtesy of Greg–wouldn’t it be funny is Bette Davis did the stop announcements on the El? THIIIIIIIIS is Loyola.)

Tomorrow morning I leave for Buxton. It’s been a bit of a bumpy ride to get to this day, but I have every expectation of enjoying myself immensely. A week in England, singing music I love with other Gilbert and Sullivan nerds? Sign me up!

And then after that, a grand total of five days left in Paris. Wheeee!

Bisous,
Anne

