Tags

, , , ,

Well, blogosphere, it’s been a while since I’ve posted in the wee small hours, but it cannot be helped. Today (well, okay, yesterday) temperatures in Paris reached nearly 100 degrees Fahrenheit, and my understanding is that tomorrow (today) will be worse.

I coped by cuddling with my brand-new ice pack (which I originally intended to use as a heating pad for the muscles in my poor right leg) and going to the movies. Twice. The first time was actually not to escape the heat, but because for the first time in months, I checked the Champollion movie schedule and found that I had exactly enough time to get to St. Michel and have lunch before the movie, and also because I had never seen Network and there’s a Sidney Lumet film festival going on. The second time was Batman, because I got home from the first movie, walked into my room and promptly walked out again. I think the worst thing about this kind of weather is that it is worse indoors than it is outdoors. Outdoors at least, even when it’s 98 degrees out, there is a bit of a breeze and you can sit in the shade; indoors the heat is unrelenting. So I braved the RER B (sweating through my clothes in the fifteen minute ride to Châtelet) and sat in blissful air conditioning at Les Halles for nearly three hours. I don’t think I’ve ever enjoyed a long movie so much in my life.

And then–and THEN, blogosphere–I got home to discover that I had won the award for Best Female Voice in the Buxton Festival awards ceremony. I believe there was a way to at least listen to the ceremony as it was taking place, but it was just too hot, and also I didn’t want to have to sit around and wait on tenterhooks not knowing anything if the audio didn’t work.

Anyway, yay and hooray! I actually went into my Buxton experience not realizing that there would be adjudications or awards, and I really didn’t worry about them too much. I just did what I do, and apparently did it well, because in addition to winning Best Female Voice, I was also nominated for Best Female Performance and the adjudicator’s prize for dialogue, with the other principals in our cast. Our director, Gary, got a nomination, as did Jonathan for his Dr. Daly, and the chorus was nominated as well, for Best Animated Chorus. All in all, we did incredibly well, and I am so proud of everybody. We did get robbed, I thought, in the overall show category–I thought our show blew the others out of the water…but then, I’m biased.


I was trying to upload my certificate so everybody could see it, since all of a sudden the end of Wizard of Oz has popped into my head…

…but apparently WordPress or the internet or my computer won’t let me do that. So I’ll just go ahead and say that I feel just like Jennie Hildebrand in Street Scene, when she finds out that she was the best in the scholarship test.


And maybe now I’ll try to sleep again. Or not. We’ll see.

Bisous (except not because it’s way too hot for bisous),
Anne

