Tags

, , , , , ,

Yesterday I was at the gym (I was at the gym today too, and the day before yesterday–le lendemain!–but that is not important to this story), and after Jeopardy I flipped to the Live Well Network, which is apparently a thing, and a chef at Kendall College was hosting a special on Easy French Cooking. Or French Made Easy. Or something.

Anyway. He was going to make a warm goat cheese salad, which is one of my all-time favorite things, and which I actually just had last weekend with my brother and his girlfriend at Kopi Café on Clark Street. BUT. The version on this show involved a soft boiled egg.

I was never a fan of loose eggs until I spent a year in France, because French eggs are exquisite. They pretty much taste like the food dictionary definition of EGG. So sometimes I would soft-boil eggs for lunch, with no accompaniments, just soft-boiled.

But once in a while I would go out for lunch with friends or family and order a salad, and a couple of times the plate I received would be topped off with what appeared to be a BREADED soft-boiled egg. Crispy on the outside, rich and yolk-tastic on the inside. What’s not to love?

So that show that I saw yesterday reminded me both that I love soft-boiled eggs and that I want to know how they got the breading on the outside of the egg.

Answer: flour, more egg, breadcrumbs, deep-fried in oil.

You better believe this went down in my apartment tonight.

While the eggs were boiling (6 minute eggs, by the way), I put flour, beaten egg and lightly-seasoned breadcrumbs into separate bowls. (The recipe said “three separate bowls,” and for a second I hesitated because of what Bilbo Baggins would call the “washing up”…but I persevered.)

Four eggs a-boiling! (Hey, it’s the tenth day of Christmas. When does “hens a-laying” happen?)

I boiled four eggs because a. the recipe said to, and b. I knew, because I am terrible at eggs, that I would ruin at least one. And one of them did crack slightly in the pot of water, and then I got cocky while peeling the eggs after they had cooled and tried to pull the last piece of shell off all at once. I almost lost the runny yolk all over my kitchen. Imagine the washing up then!

While all this was going I prepared a kind of sad-looking salad, to balance out the fried soft-boiled cholesterol I was having for dinner.

After a slightly messy but speedy frying process (vegetable oil, just like latkes), this is what the surviving eggs looked like:

They were prettier on the original website. Mine have bald spots. But that’s okay, because voilà!

The only thing that would have made this better would have been goat cheese, like on the cooking show I was watching. I did have some goat cheese, but I put it all into the massive lasagna I made yesterday.

I think one of the most common New Year’s Resolutions is “eat better.” I’ve decided to take that to heart and feed myself very well in 2013. Clearly. Plus I have a gym membership now, so the sky’s the limit!

Bisous,
Anne

P.S. Why is it so cheap to eat eggs in France? Because one egg is un oeuf!

