Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Well, yesterday was the 4th of July. I have to admit, it was kind of a blip on my radar this year. I did go out for falafels with Heather and Jake, which was lovely (though in true Anne fashion, I wore a new dress and got grease on it; on the other hand, I had chocolate ice cream afterwards and managed not to dribble, so there’s that…). Then I came home and took a huge nap, after which because of the heat and humidity in my room I felt terrible, and I didn’t stop feeling terrible until I finally got to sleep at 1:30 AM, when the 4th of July barbecue outside my window had finally broken up so I could sleep with the window open and no fan.

But yesterday was notable for how much good work I got done on Le Nozze di Figaro. I am just so excited about it. A friend of mine listened to the recording of “Deh vieni, non tardar” on my website and told me that I could probably make a living just singing Susannas if it was always that easy for me. (It is. I can sing that aria in my sleep.) So I was inspired.

Anyway, I didn’t sleep particularly well, and in a minute I’m going to yield to the siren song of a cup of coffee and an unfinished episode of The Good Wife, so I’ll just leave you with Lucia Popp and Gundula Janowitz. (My Aunt Deborah sent me a link to a really fun opera blog, and I realized that I haven’t really been posting opera videos. So voilà!)


Also, I think Lucia Popp and her big hat is one of the greatest bits of opera acting (operacting?) ever. (But I can’t embed the video on my blog!)

Bisous,
Anne

P.S. Happy birthday, Grandpa! 🙂

